Friday, July 31, 2009

Check This Blog Out!


I'm entirely new to this, but a fellow blogger asked me to put her blog in one of these posts. So I am, we all need to get our blogs noticed, right? Right. So here's the basic low down. Her blog is really good, and the background is amazing. She has memes that include: The Weekly Pen where she posts her short stories, poems, articles, or songs. Post It where she and other blogger probably post quotes that they liked from any book. And the normal ones that bloggers usually post about. I bet you wanna see? Check the link and don't forget to follow you bookworms! [:

Was that alright? Told you I was new to the whole Follow Friday thing. I do not have a twitter so I blogged about it. Works both ways (:

The Undercover Book Blog: http://theundercoverbooklover.blogspot.com/

In My Mailbox [o7]

Few minutes ago I got one thing in my mailbox, and that's about it for this weekend. To remind you all, In My Mailbox got started from The Story Siren. This weekend's book happens to be:


(From the Back of ARC)

Last fall sixteen-year-old Camelia fell for Ben, the mysterious new boy at school who turned out to have a very mysterious gift-pyschometry, the ability to sense the future through touch. But just as Camelia and Ben's romance began to heat up, he abruptly left town. Brokenhearted, Camelia has spent the last few months studying everything she can about psychometry, and experiencing her own strange brushes wuth premonition. Camelia wonders if Ben's abilities have somehow rubber off on her. Can the power of psychometry be transfered?

Even once Ben returns to school, Camelia can't get close enough to share he secret with him. Despite the romantic tension between them, Ben remains aloof, avoiding contact. Then when an unexpected kiss leads to a frightening argument, Camelia makes the painful decsion to let Ben go and move on. Alex, the new guy at work, seems good for her in ways Ben wasn't. Alex is easygoing and seems to really care about her.

But when Camelia and Alex start dating, a surprising love triangle results. A chilling sequence of events upturns secrets from Ben's past-and Alex's. Someone is lying, and it's up to Camelia to figure out who-before it's too late.

_______________________________________
Argh, I cannot wait to read this book! Thanks to Hyperion books, I'm able to do that. Of course the cover isn't exactly the cover, does that make sense? Ah who cares. But yay for me, haha. Expect the review within the upcoming week. Keep on reading!

Thursday, July 30, 2009

Lipstick Apology Book Trailer Contest! Ends Friday

The author of Lipstick Apology is hosting a contest where you have to choose the best book trailer made for the book - and then post it on your blog, Myspace, Facebook, anywhere. Afterwards you email her at her email address telling her you did so, and in return your entered in to win one of three great prizes - your choice. A $40 Barnes and Noble giftcard or $40 iTunes gift card, or Get Pink'd Pink Lip Deluxe Sampler from Sephora at an eighty dollar value. Her five year old daughter chooses the winner. That's the low down, but check out this link for more info: http://community.livejournal.com/debut2009/730699.html
Here's my choice!:


One Lonely Degree by C.K Kelly Martin

Title: One Lonely Degree
Author: C.K Kelly Martin
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
Pages: 256
Rating: 3.5/5

Anything is possible. . . . Finn has always felt out of place, but suddenly her world is unraveling. It started with The Party. And Adam Porter. And the night in September that changed everything. The only person who knows about that night is Audrey—Finn’s best friend, her witness to everything, and the one person Finn trusts implicitly.

So when Finn’s childhood friend Jersy moves back to town—reckless, beautiful Jersy, all lips and eyes and hair so soft you’d want to dip your fingers into it if you weren’t careful—Finn gives her blessing for Audrey to date him. How could she possibly say no to Audrey? With Audrey gone for the summer, though, Finn finds herself spending more and more time with Jersy, and for the first time in her life, something feels right. But Finn can’t be the girl who does this to her best friend . . . can she?

Review:

This is the first time I've read anything from C.K Kelly Martin before. I can't say I was happy or not with reading it. I liked her writing, that was good. But the plot is something I tend not to like. I mean seriously, cheating on your best friend is not cool. I wouldn't let any guy come between me and my best friend. So you already know whats going to happen, Finn doesn't have a friend no more. But she has Jersy, so its all cool? Not. I think I just posted a spoiler, dangit. Sorry guys. Overall this book was okay and I like the author's writing. I think I'll go find her other book - I Know It's Over. Sounds like a better story line.

Wednesday, July 29, 2009

Waiting On Wednesday [o2]


(No Book cover just yet.)

Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkin

Sophie Mercer thought being a teenage witch meant flying broomsticks, talking cats, and awesome spells. Instead, her mom still makes her ride the bus, she’s allergic to pet dander, and the one big spell she attempts at prom goes seriously bad-like, Carrie-levels of bad. As a result, Sophie is shipped off to Prentiss Academy, a boarding school for Witches, Shapeshifters, and Faeries. At Prentiss, Sophie discovers that the traumas of regular school have nothing on the goings-on at “Freak High,” what with the trio of Dark Witches who want Sophie to join their coven, her futile crush on Prentiss’s hottest Warlock, and her roommate, Jenna, who just happens to be Prentiss’s only Vampire. When members of Sophie’s coven are attacked, she finds herself trying to exonerate Jenna and solve the mystery, which might be more connected to Sophie than she ever could have guessed.

Tuesday, July 28, 2009

Teaser Tuesday [o3]

Today's Teaser Tuesday is from the current book I'm reading which happens to be One Lonely Degree by C.K. Kelley Martin. I'm giving you three teaser sentences rather than the normal two! (:

"One of the stock guys, Sebastian, left halfway through his shift with food posioning. Courtney says its more likely alcohol poisioing. Either way, the result is me running around pretending to be stock of the century."

Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen

Title: Along for the Ride
Author: Sarah Dessen
Publisher: Viking Juvenile
Pages: 383
Rating: 5/5

Riding a bike is only one of the many things Auden's missed out on. Even before her parents' divorce, she was cast in the role of little adult, never making waves, focusing on academics to please her demanding mother.

Now she's spending the summer before college in the tiny beach town of Colby with her father and his new wife and baby. A job in a trendy boutique introduces her to the world of girls, their friendships, conversations, romances. And then there's Eli, an intriguing loner. A former star on the bike circuit and a fellow insomniac, Eli introduces Auden to the nocturnal world of Colby. Together they embark on a quest: for Auden, to experience the carefree teenage life she's been denied; for Eli, to put a tragic episode behind him. Combine two lonely people with a charming beach town and an endless supply of long summer nights, and just about anything can happen.

Review:

I've read Sarah Dessen before I started writing reviews of every book I've read - and loved them all. So I can't really compare this one to the others. Just getting that out of the way. But I love any beach setting in a book, it makes me feel summery - of course it's summer but you understand. I loved the theme of the book. About doing things you've never done before, reliving things you couldn't do...that kind of stuff. I loved Isby and Eli the most, although one's just a baby, I really liked the characters. Maggie also caught my eye as a character because on the outside she looks like a girly girl who always wears pink, but as soon as you get to know her, boom, you learn she likes to ride bikes and can jump with them. It goes back to that saying we all know, don't judge a book by it's cover. Speaking of covers, I really like the on this book. The writing was great, as in any book written by Dessen. Overall I loved it and would reccommend to any one looking for a good read.


Monday, July 27, 2009

Boys That Bite by Mari Mancusi

Title: Boys That Bite;
Author: Mari Mancusi;
Publisher: Penquin Publishing;
Pages: 262;
Rating: 5/5

My mom is so going to kill me if she finds out I'm turning into a vampire. Okay, so technically she can't because I'm immortal. Well, not yet. See, due to the worst case of mistaken identity with my dark-side-loving twin sister at a Goth hangout called Club Fang, Magnus, a vampire hottie, went for my inncoent neck instead of hers. Now, if I don't reverse it in time, Magnus will be my blood mate forever and I'm doomed to be a blood-gulping, pasty, daylight-hating vampire. Believe me, it seriously bites.

After the unfortunate slaying of the vampire leader, it's up to me, my sister, and Magnus to find the one thing that can solve my problem- the Holy Grail. No joke. I seriously hope I can get out of this in time because, somehow, I scored the hottest prom date in my school, the mouth-watering Jake Wilder. And I do not want to be a vampire for the prom- let alone the rest of enternity...

Review:

As my second book this week, it's another vampire teen book. Yes I'm obsessed, okay not that much but you get it. I liked this book, and you can guess which character I liked... Magnus. Yupp, you guessed it. The writing and plot are very good, sounds like a teen wrote it, but it's an overall short read. The only problem I did have with the book was the names of the twins, I mean really it's super lame. Sunny and Rayne? Really? Yeaaaaah. Another thing I disliked would be the whole deal with Jake, it got annoying on so many levels. But it's got humor, romance, and vampires all rolled into one, something I tend to like in books more often than normal. Overall, this is a good light read and I cannot wait to read the second book of this trilogy.

Sunday, July 26, 2009

Jessica's Guide to Dating on the Darkside by Beth Fantaskey

Title: Jessica's Guide to Dating on the Darkside
Author: Beth Fantaskey
Publisher: Harcourt Children's Books
Pages: 351
Rating: 15/5

Enter a bizarre new exchange student named Lucius Vladescu who claims Jessica is a Romanian vampire princess by birth and he's her long-lost finace. He's arrogant, officious, embarrassingly overprotective, and, well, incredibly hot.

Armed with a copy of Growing Up Undead: A Teen Vampire's Guide to Dating, Health, and Emotions, Jessica tries to imagine the transition from an average American teenager to a glam European vampire princess. But just when things start to heat up with Lucius, a devious cheerleader sets her sights on him.

Soon Jess finds herself fighting to win back her wayward prince, stop a global vampire war- and have Lucius's soul from eternal damnation. All of which leaves her to wonder: Wouldn't her life be easier if she could just fall for a nice mortal boy?

Review:

I really loved this book. I'll be straight with you, it sounds a little bit like Twilight and New Moon rolled into one, but it's the idea of it, not the actual thing. But I didn't really care, I love this book and the Twilight series, always will. I like the fact that it talked about bethrowed and stuff like that, I really liked Lucious Lucius - not his real name, really, nick name from the book. His character was well put together, as well with Jessica. I liked the fact that she didn't like him at first, then grew to love him- awwwww much? Lucius acted very well with being an all american teenager, although he was Romanian (; I hated his uncles, and him towards the end only for like three seconds! Har, har. But the writing and plot are really good, some may think the same others will not. Overall, I reccommend this book to everyone that can read! Well, in the teenage area, of course. I wonder if they're will be a sequel, if so I cannot wait!

Saturday, July 25, 2009

In My Mailbox [o6]

I know it's getting kind of old with me returning books I haven't read yet and not reviewed. I've done it twice, but the second was the last! I returned, thirteen- yes thirteen, books I couldn't get into and got five I'm interested in, and there WILL BE reviews. Pinky promise - and I don't break those!



1.) Along For the Ride by Sarah Dessen:

Riding a bike is only one of the many things Auden's missed out on. Even before her parents' divorce, she was cast in the role of little adult, never making waves, focusing on academics to please her demanding mother.

Now she's spending the summer before college in the tiny beach town of Colby with her father and his new wife and baby. A job in a trendy boutique introduces her to the world of girls, their friendships, conversations, romances. And then there's Eli, an intriguing loner. A former star on the bike circuit and a fellow insomniac, Eli introduces Auden to the nocturnal world of Colby. Together they embark on a quest: for Auden, to experience the carefree teenage life she's been denied; for Eli, to put a tragic episode behind him. Combine two lonely people with a charming beach town and an endless supply of long summer nights, and just about anything can happen.



2.) One Lonely Degree by C.K Kelly Martin:

Anything is possible. . . . Finn has always felt out of place, but suddenly her world is unraveling. It started with The Party. And Adam Porter. And the night in September that changed everything. The only person who knows about that night is Audrey—Finn’s best friend, her witness to everything, and the one person Finn trusts implicitly. So when Finn’s childhood friend Jersy moves back to town—reckless, beautiful Jersy, all lips and eyes and hair so soft you’d want to dip your fingers into it if you weren’t careful—Finn gives her blessing for Audrey to date him. How could she possibly say no to Audrey?

With Audrey gone for the summer, though, Finn finds herself spending more and more time with Jersy, and for the first time in her life, something feels right. But Finn can’t be the girl who does this to her best friend . . . can she?




3.) Boys That Bite by Mari Mancusi:

My mom is so going to kill me if she finds out I'm turning into a vampire. Okay, so technically she can't because I'm immortal. Well, not yet. See, due to the worst case of mistaken identity with my dark-side-loving twin sister at a Goth hangout called Club Fang, Magnus, a vampire hottie, went for my inncoent neck instead of hers. Now, if I don't reverse it in time, Magnus will be my blood mate forever and I'm doomed to be a blood-gulping, pasty, daylight-hating vampire. Believe me, it seriously bites.

After the unfortunate slaying of the vampire leader, it's up to me, my sister, and Magnus to find the one thing that can solve my problem- the Holy Grail. No joke. I seriously hope I can get out of this in time because, somehow, I scored the hottest prom date in my school, the mouth-watering Jake Wilder. And I do not want to be a vampire for the prom- let alone the rest of enternity...


4.) Jessica's Guide to Dating on the Darkside by Beth Fantaskey:

Enter a bizarre new exchange student named Lucius Vladescu who claims Jessica is a Romanian vampire princess by birth and he's her long-lost finace. He's arrogant, officious, embarrassingly overprotective, and, well, incredibly hot.

Armed with a copy of Growing Up Undead: A Teen Vampire's Guide to Dating, Health, and Emotions, Jessica tries to imagine the transition from an average American teenager to a glam European vampire princess. But just when things start to heat up with Lucius, a devious cheerleader sets her sights on him.

Soon Jess finds herself fighting to win back her wayward prince, stop a global vampire war- and have Lucius's soul from eternal damnation. All of which leaves her to wonder: Wouldn't her life be easier if she could just fall for a nice mortal boy?



5.) Touching Snow bt M. Sindy Felin:

Karina has plenty to worry about on the last day of seventh grade: finding three Ds and a C on her report card again, getting laughed at by everyone again, being sent to the principal — again. She'd like this to change, but with her and her sisters dodging their stepfather's fists every day after school, she doesn't have time to do much self-reflecting. Finally her stepfather is taken away on child abuse charges, and Karina thinks things might turn into something resembling normal. The problem is, he's not gone for good.

And as Karina becomes closer with a girl at the community center where her stepfather is not showing up for his parenting classes, she starts to realize a couple things. First, for all the problems her family had tried to escape by immigrating from Haiti, they brought most of them along to upstate New York. And second, if anything is going to change for this family, it is going to be up to Karina and her sisters to make it happen.

_________________________________________
That's this week's In My Mailbox in order from the ones I can't wait to read. The last one's title is the exact font of my header! I had to say that, random, but who cares (: I can't wait to read Along for the Ride.
What did you get this week?

Monday, July 20, 2009

Look Both Ways by Jacquelyn Mitchard

Title: Look Both Ways
Author: Jacquelyn Mitchard
Pages: 256
Publisher: Penguin Group
Rating: 5/5

Mally and Merry Brynn thought that with the death of David Jellico, their nightmarish visions of the future and past were gone for good. Now, Merry's only worries revolve around cheer tryouts, and Mally has slipped back into her homebody, tomboy ways.

Then a cheerleader lands in the hospital. And a mysterious, beautiful mountain lion is maimed.

When they begin to suspect their friend Eden was involved in both events, Merry and Mally are catapulted back into a world of visions that they do not yet understand. And this time, they must race to prevent the people they love most from unspeakable tragedy.

Review:

Okay, I liked this book. I remember getting the first book and reading some of it, but not completing it. Basically, I couldn't get into the first book of the series. But the second was amazing. I loved how Indian culture was applied in the book this time. I liked the concept of mirror twins, it's cool. But the fact the twins were so tiny was kind of creepy. You should go out and get this book if you've read the first one!

Sunday, July 19, 2009

The Thirteenth Child by Patricia C. Wrede

Title: The Thirteenth Child
Author: Patricia C. Wrede
Pages: 320
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Rating: 3.5/5

Eff was born a thirteenth child. Her twin brother, Lan, is the seventh son of a seventh son. This means he's supposed to possess amazing talent -- and she's supposed to bring only bad things to her family and her town. Undeterred, her family moves to the frontier, where her father will be a professor of magic at a school perilously close to the magical divide that separates settlers from the beasts of the wild.

With wit and wonder, Patricia Wrede creates an alternate history of westward expansion that will delight fans of both J. K. Rowling and Laura Ingalls Wilder.
(From Amazon, the one from the book is a little too descriptive... spolier much?)


Review:

I liked this book, but you're probably wondering - then why such a low rating? For one reason, and one reason only. The aging, the book went from them being four to eighteen in one book. That's something I do not like. But the plot, writing, characters, and not to mention the subject were amazing. I loved reading about magic and the Old Western times. I can't stop to wonder if they'll be another book, if so, I can't wait(: I liked how Eff (short for Fransis) proved to everyone that she isn't as bad as everyone thinks she is, just because she's the thirteenth child. I loved how there was a supposed "bad" twin then a "good" twin. I liked the concept. But overall, I reccomend this book, it's great!

Thursday, July 16, 2009

Update... Kinda

Hey, I just want to remind you all that I won't be posting reviews for about a week. My niece is having surgery, and I need to help my grandmother. If you read my last update, you already know about this. But as soon as I get back, I'll start reading again and posting reviews. About reading, I have these stages where I want to read constantly, then I have ones where I don't feel like reading. Guess which one I'm at? The one where I don't feel like reading. But I hope after not reading for awhile I'll return to loving books again (: Which is probably true, at least I think! Well, I'm off, keep on readin!

Tuesday, July 14, 2009

Teaser Tuesdays [o2]

Today's Teaser Tuesday is going to be from Fate by Jennifer Lynn Barnes. To review, I did not create this meme, but TT's rule's are:

1.) Grab your current read

2.) Let the book fall open to a random page

3.) Share with us two (2) “teaser” sentences from that page, somewhere between lines 7 and 12 (which I've modified to 2-4 sntences)

4.) You also need to share the title of the book that you’re getting your “teaser” from … that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!








"Unconscious teacher. Panicking classmates running into the hallway. I needed to put an end to this, and I needed to do damage control. Unfortunately, I couldn't move. The snakes, hissing and writhing around Jessica's head, turning her into an unwilling high school Medusa, kept me frozen in place."

Eighth Grade Bites: Heather Brewer

Title: Eighth Grade Bites;
Author: Heather Brewer;
Pages:182;
Publisher: Dutton Children's Books;
Rating: 5/5


Junior high really sucks for thirteen year old Vladimir Tod. Bullies harass him, the principle is dogging him, and the girl he likes prefers his best friend. Oh, and Vlad has a secret: his mother was human, but his father was a vampire. With no idea of the extent of his powers, no one to teach him, Vlad struggles daily with his blood cravings and his enlarged fangs. When a strange substitute teacher begins to question him a little too closely, Vlad worries that his cover is about to be blown. But then he realizes he has a much bigger problem: he's being hunted by a vampire killer who is closing in...fast!

The first book in the ghoulishly funny series by frist time author Heather Brewer leads readers on a nail-biting adventure that is filled with dark chrarcters and mystical glyphs, secret idenetities and hidden adgendas, unearthly powers and teenage angst.


Review:
This is another interesting vampire book with teens involved. Vlad is not made a vampire, he was born one - plus he's only half vampire. Ring a bell, anyone? Yes, the last three books I've reviewed contained half vampires. Vlad's character was well planned out, whenever he did something bad he usually felt guilty. I also like Henry and how him and Vlad went back from when they were both young. Aunt Nelly was created so sweet in understanding what Vlad really is and she makes it easy for him no matter what. This book had some funny parts, with some suspense in their too, something I'm starting to like. Overall, I look foward to reading the next book in the series. So i'm off to read some more, cio!

Saturday, July 11, 2009

Dating 4 Demons by Serena Robar

Title: Dating 4 Demons
Author: Serena Robar
Pages: 191
Publisher: Berkley Pusblising
Rating: 6/5

Vampire politics. I can swing that. But acient languages are a different story, which is where my new tutor, Hunter, comes in. So what if his idea of a great study spot is the local graveyard? I can appreciate that. And with Colby Blanchard for a best friend, not to mention my nortorious sarcasm, who'd've thought I'd find a boyfriend? Colby's perky, blond, and the founder of a half-blood vampire sorority - while I love fried food and wearing black. But I've always perfered the shade - until now. Maybe he's just attentive and... not a seriously colossal threat?


Ever since I staked that demon zombie -a no brainer for someone like Colby, but seriously strange for living chicks like yours truely - Hunter's been studying me. Most girls freak about guys who don't listen, but this one's practically taking notes. Sure, he's eye-catching in combat boots, but this boy's definately persuing more than a good-night kiss. Like dirt on Psi Phi and it's undead sisters - plus those world ending prophesies revolving around "the Protector, " aka Colby. Unless he thinks we're one and the same? Laughable. Or maybe not...

Review:

The final book was my all time favorite. There was tons of humor, in which I often laughed out loud and got weird stares from. But it was all cool, because it fit in with the whole book. I loved the humor mixed in with the vampire plot, it mixed great - who knew? This book goes from Piper's point of view, to Colby's throughout the book, and both go together. Overall, this book series, and the last book were great. I loved the last though, remember that! So I leave you with a funny teaser from the book, but not a spolier;





"To my shock and dismay, his head detatched from his body and now Colby was holding it upside down against her chest. She tossed it to number four; the surprised look on his face was pretty classic. He threw it back and before I knew it they were playing a game of hot potatoe with this guy's noggin."





Fangs 4 Freaks by Selena Robar

Title: Fangs 4 Freaks
Author: Selena Robar
Pages: 212
Publisher:Berkley Publishing
Rating: 5/5

Psi Phi house is just like any sorority house except for the part about us being half-blood vampires. I've emancipated my fellow half bloods and laid the smacjdown for some way-needed new laws. Things should be great, right? Er, wrong! For starters, the Vapire Tribunal is dumping the newest pledges on my lawn...bound and gagged. And Thomas, my hunky Vampire Investigator boyfriend, is a little too much of a gentlemean. Hello?! Is my butt to big or something?

Home sweet vampire home? Even with it's posh pink interior, things arent' exactly cushy for us ladies at Psi Phi house. One sisters wants to return to her vegan lifestyle- while another is constantly poised for a fist fight. And royal bloodsucker Ileana Romanav things everyone is her personal butler. A cozy coven it may not be, but a shlter from harm must be - which is proving to be harder than expected. Leaked info on the sisters' whereabouts is bringing on some ugly, unexpected attacks. Either someone in the Tribunal wants us, or there's a spy in the house, watching us day and night. Or, if it's a fullblood, just night...

Review:

I loved this second book of Braced 2 Bite Series. It's still following Colby and her Undead existance, and along with some newcomers, other halfbloods just like her. Those characters were well rounded as well, Ileana was very interesting, it was like seeing into the past with her. This book contains some humor and more suspense than you can think of. You'll like this book if you liked the first one, but read the first one first! ;)

Friday, July 10, 2009

Braced 2 Bite: Serena Robar

Title: Braced 2 Bite
Author: Serna Robar
Pages: 224
Publisher: Berkley Trade
Rating: 5/5

Colby Blanchard is the popular cheerleader with the grades, the hunky boyfriend, and the homecoming crown in the bag. Then things go bad-like turning-into-a-vampire bad. And complicating things is the fact that her orthodontist father has removed her canine teeth to give her a perfect smile, so she can't even do the vampire thing properly. Luckily, he's fitting her with some new headgear so she can feed. (So now she's not just a vampire but a dork.)

This lighthearted debut will have Buffy fans of all ages laughing and shuddering as Colby battles the Vampire Council, resists her attraction to a fellow vamp, and hunts down the rogue bloodsucker who got her in this mess in the first place-all while trying to snag a date for homecoming.

Review:

I really liked this book, and was looking forward to reading the series. I found all three at my local library, and I'm on my second one. This book follows Colby - name? - who is turned into a half vampire (yes, I said it, vampires...Yay :D). She's just one of those barbie doll girls, with a secret she can't exactly tell everyone. This has a hilarious twist to it, okay, not hilarious but close to it! The characters are written very good, and the writing is good also. If you like ANY teen vampire books, you're going to love this one as well. Look foward to the other two books!

Update

Hey there! I just wanna post an update of what's been going on where I am. I've been looking for a job, but it's complicated - not really, but still. I've been at my niece's house since Wednesday, and went to the library twice - and each time, I got more books. I already had thirteen at home on the floor, and now I come home with six more. So that's a lot of reading, and reviews, don't you think? And I'm not even close to finsihing them all. So please, look forward to all those reviews - whew more work huh? I have to help my grandmother out at my nieces house again as she gets surgery - Pray for her, or something, thank you - so that's some reading time but no reviews, but they're going to get on here eventually. Well that's it! Keep on reading young ones (;

Godess Boot Camp: Tera Lynn Childs



Title: Goddess Boot Camp
Author: Tera Lynn Childs
Pages: 224
Publisher: Dutton Books
Rating: 5.5/5

Phoebe who recently discovered she was a descendant of Nike (the goddess, not the shoe), is finding out that supernatural powers come with a crazy learning curve.

A few months ago, when Pheobe's mom married a Greek guy and moved her halfway across the world to the tiny island of Serfopoula, she had no idea that she'd soon find herself surrounded by decendants of Greek gods, let alone that she'd learn her own hertiage was more mythical than than mortal. But because she still doesn't quite have her new powers under control, something that can be dangerous since the gods are known for smoting those who use their powers recklessy, Pheobe's been enrolled in Dynamotheos Development Camp, also known as Goddess Boot Camp, for the summer. What kind of earthly torture will Goddess Boot Camp be? Well, it can't be worse than Hades, can it?

This summer will be about learning her powers, reigning them in, training for the marathon at the Pythian Games (the only athletic event bigger than the Olympics), and surving Goddess Boot Camp with her love life and sanity in tact!

Review:

Well that was a very long description of the book, but it was worth it. I read the first book, Oh. My. Gods, and loved it - so I was looking forward to reading the sequel. I finsihed this book in a few hours of ignoring people and things [: It was really good, the best thing about it? The Greek mythology, it's always interests me more than anything - I loved the entries in Stella's study guy, I learned stuff! The chararcters were well rounded, as normal - I loved Griffin! If you loved learning about Phoebe's journey, keep on reading the series - they're awesome!

Tuesday, July 7, 2009

In My Mailbox [o5]

For this week, I've only got one book that I got because I have a few more books to read. But this week's is The Dark Divine by Bree Despain. I can't wait to read this! I'll have a review up for you guys and the author!
As for the other books, I'll have reviews up for them and from my last in my mailbox up soon. I got too many books to read, and little time! But I'll get it, look out for them!

video

Saturday, July 4, 2009

Contest Update!

The Story Siren [http://www.thestorysiren.com/2009/07/giveaway.html] is hosting a giveaway/contest... You'll get the following:

The Elite Series:

The Elite
In Too Deep
Simply Irresistable.

Gossip Girl - Season 1 - DVD




Go Check It Out!

Friday, July 3, 2009

Title: Peace, Love & Baby Ducks
Author: Lauren Myracle
Publisher: Dutton Books
Pages: 289
Rating: 10/5.

Wealth, privilege, and way too many pastel-tinted opinions...that's Carly's life. And guess what? It's. Getting. On. Her. Nerves.Carly wants to be real, and she 's always counted on her little sister, Anna, to love her and support her - and tell her how right she is. But when Anan turns "hot" over the course of a single summer, everything goes weird.

Suddenly Anna's swimming in the deep end with the big girls - the plastic-perfect-pretty-girls- while Carly watches, hurt, from the kiddie pool. And of course there are boys involved, complicating things as boys always do.With warmth, insight, and an unparaelled gift for finding humor even in stormy situations, beloved author Lauren Myracle dives into the tumultious waters of sisterhood and shows that even sisters can laern to help each other stay alfoat.

Aside from my last review, I loved this book. The characters were well written, you could see their personalities as if they were real people. Cole got on my nerves, and that's all I'm going to say about him. I loved Roger, he seemed so real - don't we wish all boys were like that? Carly was a very good character, I loved how she tried and was determined not to be apart of the norm. I laughed aloud with some parts in this book, so that's a very good thing when it comes to me reading. But it also talks about the sisterly bond that goes, it follows through the thick and thin. This is a real book, nothin' phony about it, go read it! [:

Thursday, July 2, 2009

Zombie Blondes - Brian James

Title: Zombie Blondes
Author: Brian James
Pages: 256
Publisher: Square Fish
Rating: 2/5

From the moment Hannah Sanders arrived in town, she felt there was something wrong. A lot of houses were for sale, and the town seemed infected by an unearthly quiet. And then, on Hannah’s first day of classes, she ran into a group of cheerleaders—the most popular girls in school.


The odd thing was that they were nearly identical in appearance: blonde, beautiful, and deathly pale. But Hannah wants desperately to fit in—regardless of what her friend Lukas is telling her: If she doesn’t watch her back, she’s going to be blonde and popular and dead—just like all the other zombies in this town. . . .


I didn't like this book, I'm putting it straight at cha'. It was very creepy, and if you like that kind of stuff - whatever, that's your thing. Perferably, I like the friendly zombies, not the creepy body eating stuff. Major ew. You kind of know what's going to happen - predictable - which kind of happens alot. That's all I have to say, this book was creepy. If you wanna read it, go on, if you like it that way [:

Assiniboin Girl By Kathleen Wallace

Mary Two Dogs is lost. She grew up in New York the only child of musician parents, but when they die in a car accident coming back from a gig, she’s shipped off to live with her Aunt Janet in Georgia. The South is a strange new world to her, and she becomes the target of racist attacks from some of the other girls. Her Aunt Janet, an undercover FBI agent can’t move, but to keep Mary safe, she sends her to the Assiniboin reservation in Montana.

There Mary has to learn to deal with a whole new world, a completely different set of expectations. Pitied for her lack of understanding of her people, she must learn what it means to be Assiniboin and who she is. To do that, she must find her true name.


Title: Assiniboin Girl
Author: Kathleen Wallace
Pages: 112
Publisher: Drollerie Press
Rating: 5/5

I loved this book, for many reasons. First off, it tells you how bad racisim can get in some states or countries. You never really know its that bad really, but this book opened my eyes on that. This E-book has Native American culture mixed in it, from the past to the present. I loved the way Wallace incorrurated that into her book. I loved learning about new cultures and how they came to be. I loved Steve, so it broke my heart to see what happens to him in the end. Overall I loved this book, it was amazing... Go read it!