Thursday, January 28, 2010

Review | Dirty Little Secrets by C.J Omololu

Title: Dirty Little Secrets
Author: C.J Omololu
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Pages: 210
Rating: 3/5

"Everyone has secrets. Some are just bigger and dirtier than others. For sixteen years, Lucy has kept her mother's hoarding a secret. She's had to -- nobody would understand the stacks of newspapers and mounds of garbage so high they touch the ceiling and the rotting smell that she's always worried would follow her out the house. After years of keeping people at a distance, she finally has a best friend and maybe even a boyfriend if she can play it right. As long as she can make them think she's normal.

When Lucy arrives home from a sleepover to find her mother dead under a stack of National Geographics, she starts to dial 911 in a panic, but pauses before she can connect. She barely notices the filth and trash anymore, but she knows the paramedics will. First the fire trucks, and then news cameras that will surely follow. No longer will they be remembered as the nice oncology nurse with the lovely children -- they'll turn into that garbage-hoarding freak family on Collier Avenue.
With a normal life finally within reach, Lucy has only minutes to make a critical decision. How far will she go to keep the family secrets safe?"

My thoughts:

Dirty Little Secrets is a window into what it feels like to have a hoarder for a mother and the difficulty of living that life.

Lucy, the main character, has lived with her mom and all the 'stuff' that lives with them. She hides everything from everyone she knows. I felt bad for her throughout the whole book. She was relateable when it came to constantly thinking what people think of you. Kaylie, the best friend, is constantly there for her, but doesn't know the secret that Lucy holds away. I feel her character supports Lucy in a way.

The plot was fast, and moved with a span of twenty four hours. But I felt that it was just Lucy trying to clean up the mess of the home she had, and hiding the secret. That's about it, but it was much deeper than that. And I liked that. The writing throughout the book portrayed exactly how bad the house would be in real life, and the emotions that Lucy felt about everything that has happened. The ending, to me, filled out well and tied together well.

Overall, I different book about something you hardly see. Even though it's a little disturbing, the message is there. I definitely recommend.

Disclaimer: Given by the publisher.

Wednesday, January 27, 2010

Waiting On Wednesday [o9]


"One cold night, in a most unlikely corner of Chicago, two teens—both named Will Grayson—are about to cross paths. As their worlds collide and intertwine, the Will Graysons find their lives going in new and unexpected directions, building toward romantic turns-of-heart and the epic production of history’s most fabulous high school musical.

Hilarious, poignant, and deeply insightful, John Green and David Levithan’s collaborative novel is brimming with a double helping of the heart and humor that have won both them legions of faithful fans."



----

Hey, all. I'm sorry I haven't been updating as much as I really should be doing. I went to visit my aunt in the country and came back not feeling like doing anything I love. It's just a phase and will be passed quickly. I'm not taking any breaks, by the way.

What are you waiting on? [:

Saturday, January 23, 2010

In My Mailbox [26]

"Before Juliet Capelletti lie two futures: a traditionally loveless marriage to her father's business partner, or the fulfillment of her poetic dreams, inspired by the great Dante. Unlike her beloved friend Lucrezia, who looks forward to her arranged marriage, Juliet has a wild, romantic imagination that knows not the bounds of her great family's stalwart keep.

The latter path is hers for the taking when Juliet meets Romeo Monticecco, a soulful young man seeking peace between their warring families. A dreamer himself, Romeo is unstoppable, once he determines to capture the heart of the remarkable woman foretold in his stars. The breathless intrigue that ensues is the stuff of beloved legend. But those familiar with Shakespeare's muse know only half the story...

"Katie Ellison is not a liar.

It's just that telling the truth is so . . . tricky. She knows she shouldn't be making out with a drama club hottie behind her football-player boyfriend's back. She should probably admit that she can't stand eating quahogs (clams), especially since she's running for Quahog Princess in her hometown's annual Quahog Festival. And it would be a relief to finally tell someone what really happened the night Tommy Sullivan is a freak was spray-painted on the new wall outside the junior high school gymnasium—in neon orange, which still hasn't been sandblasted off. After all, everyone knows that's what drove Tommy out of town four years ago.

But now Tommy Sullivan has come back. Katie is sure he's out for revenge, and she'll do anything to hang on to her perfect (if slightly dishonest) existence. Even if it means telling more lies than ever. Even if, now that Tommy's around, she's actually—no lie—having the time of her life."


"Act on your impulse, swallow the bottle, cut a little deeper, put the gun to your chest.

Tony's painful childhood memories can be quelled only through pills. Vanessa has a secret that keeps her comin back to the blade. And Connor seems to have the perfect life on the outside, but his inward battle with his parents, his peers, and himself give him on last choice-to pull the trigger.

These are three lives that would have been cu short if not for the hasty intervention by loved ones. Or fate. Now they are given a second chance at a better life-but only if they help one another, and if they find the strength to let go of their inner demons. For good."


That's all I got this week. The first is for review [: What'd you get?


Tuesday, January 19, 2010

Review | Hearts At Stake by Alyxandra Harvey

Title: Hearts At Stake
Author: Alyxandra Harvey
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Pages: 248
Rating 5/5

"On Solange’s sixteenth birthday, she is going to wake up dead. As if that’s not bad enough, she also has to outwit her seven overprotective older brothers, avoid the politics involved with being the only daughter born to an ancient vampire dynasty, and elude Kieran Black—agent of an anti-vampire league who is searching for his father’s killer and is intent on staking Solange and her entire family.Luckily she has her own secret weapon—her human best friend Lucy—who is willing to defend Solange’s right to a normal life, whether she’s being smothered by her well-intentioned brothers or abducted by a power-hungry queen. Two unlikely alliances are formed in a race to save Solange’s eternal life—Lucy and Solange’s brother Nicholas, and Solange and Kieran Black—in a dual romance that is guaranteed to jump start any romance-lover’s heart.Even fans of the genre who’ve seen it all will find a fresh read with kick-butt characters and family dynamics that ring true for all brothers and sisters—vampire or otherwise."

My thoughts:

Hearts At Stake is an awesome book filled with hot guys, vampires, action, and romance all tied in with a tint of humor which makes for an exciting thrill ride.


The main characters, Lucy and Solange, are best friends and I think the author portrayed their relationship really well. Lucy has the mellow parents who believe in karma, tofu, and have a peaceful center. She has a twist of humor that made her relatable. Solange, on the other hand, is the tough little sister that can tell her brothers how many times she's strong and can fight. The brothers. All of them had their own quirks and personalities that stood out from the page. Nicholas was totally swoon worthy and my favorite one out of the seven. Leading up to Logan, Quinn, and Connor coming in second, third, and fourth. But all of them were my favorite parts in the story and I wish there was more of them! Well, they're in there a lot, but still.


The chapters go back and forth between Lucy and Solange, and to me, I think that perfectly perfects the book even more. You get to see both sides of the friendship, almost like two stories that are all tied in together. It was amazing. The writing had ways of letting you swoon with the romance (not going to say who's with who), bite your nails with the action, and laugh with the characters. It was also descriptive, but not overly descriptive. That's always a plus, eh?


Overall, this is
definitely a must read for anyone who loves vampires. It's not like your typical vampire story, it's much more...quirky and awesomer. (To me.) I cannot wait for the second book! [:

Disclaimer: From publisher.

Sunday, January 17, 2010

Review | Magic Under Glass by Jaclyn Dolamore

Title: Magic Under Glass
Author: Jaclyn Dolamore
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Pages: 225
Rating: 4/5

"Nimira is a music-hall performer forced to dance for pennies to an audience of leering drunks. When wealthy sorcerer Hollin Parry hires her to do a special act - singing accompaniment to an exquisite piano-playing automaton, Nimira believes it is the start of a new life. In Parry's world, however, buried secrets stir. Unsettling below-stairs rumours abound about ghosts, a mad woman roaming the halls, and of Parry's involvement in a gang of ruthless sorcerers who torture fairies for sport. When Nimira discovers the spirit of a dashing young fairy gentleman is trapped inside the automaton's stiff limbs, waiting for someone to break the curse and set him free, the two fall in love. But it is a love set against a dreadful race against time to save the entire fairy realm, which is in mortal peril."

My thoughts:

Magic Under Glass is filled with magic and creates suspense with every page you flip.

Nim, the main character, once had everything a girl could want. She had the riches, silk, everything you can think of. But then she loses it all, and changes. You would think that she would be portrayed as a snotty girl, but really she isn't. I liked that about her character. The mystery man, or Hollin, was a favorable character as well. He really was mysterious and felt portrayed as a man with secrets. Which he was. Erris, the automaton, was loveable and that's really saying something when he is, well, an automaton. All the characters were devolped well.

The world that Dolamore created was magically unique. I found myself wanting to go into the world that she created. The descriptions were simple, but portrayed (I'm just loving that word, aren't I?) the world very well. You can say the writing was awesome.

If you're looking for a light, airy with hints of magic and suspense I definitely recommend this to
anyone. An awesome read, most definitely [:

Disclaimer: Given to me by the publisher.

Friday, January 15, 2010

In My Mailbox! [25]


^^
I had to, xD.

I've made another video with another song. It's only a minute long, well, the last time I checked. Anyways, yeah check it out! [:

Created by The Story Siren & Inspired by The Book Junkie!



video
*Correction, title of song is called Don't Ever Leave.

Review | The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan

Title: Forest of Hands and Teeth
Author: Carrie Ryan

Publisher: Delacorte
Pages: 308
Rating: 3/5

"In Mary's world there are simple truths. The Sisterhood always knows best. The Guardians will protect and serve. The Unconsecrated will never relent. And you must always mind the fence that surrounds the village; the fence that protects the village from the Forest of Hands and Teeth. But, slowly, Mary's truths are failing her. She's learning things she never wanted to know about the Sisterhood and its secrets, and the Guardians and their power, and about the Unconsecrated and their relentlessness.

When the fence is breached and her world is thrown into chaos, she must choose between her village and her future - between the one she loves and the one who loves her. And she must face the truth about the Forest of Hands and Teeth. Could there be life outside a world surrounded in so much death?"


My thoughts:

The Forest of Hands and Teeth is a different novel that I would normally never read. Zombie just aren't my thing. But it was thrilling and had you wondering what secrets the Sisterhood and even the Unconsecrated held.

The writing is sort of dated back, if you will, and I really don't mind that because either way, it was written really good. The characters were awesomely dimensional, but you really couldn't tell how old they were. But that's not a problem. The Unconsecrated weren't my thing, and it's what the book is mostly based around. Again with the buts, but I found them interesting. Especially Gabrielle. The plot, to me, is loosely based around them walking on a path towards nothing. The ending confused me massively and left me asking questions, but kind of soothed Mary so it didn't matter.

So I did like this book even though it was about zombies. The whole love thing in this novel was heartbreaking, and that is probably why I liked it. I would recommend if you like reading about zombies! You'll definitely love it.

Disclaimer: Borrowed from a local library.

Tuesday, January 12, 2010

Review | Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

Title: Beautiful Creatures
Author: Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 576
Rating: 5/5

"There were no surprises in Gatlin County.
We were pretty much the epicenter of the middle of nowhere.
At least, that's what I thought.
Turns out, I couldn't have been more wrong.
There was a curse.
There was a girl.
And in the end, there was a grave.

Lena Duchannes is unlike anyone the small Southern town of Gatlin has ever seen, and she's struggling to conceal her power and a curse that has haunted her family for generations. But even within the overgrown gardens, murky swamps and crumbling graveyards of the forgotten South, a secret cannot stay hidden forever.

Ethan Wate, who has been counting the months until he can escape from Gatlin, is haunted by dreams of a beautiful girl he has never met. When Lena moves into the town's oldest and most infamous plantation, Ethan is inexplicably drawn to her and determined to uncover the connection between them. In a town with no surprises, one secret could change everything."


My thoughts:

Beautiful Creatures was a southern Gothic that is beyond amazing. It has the love, the mystery, the family secrets, it has everything.

The characters are amazing and relatable. They weren’t flat and cliché, they were well rounded (beyond it) and completely alive in a literal sense. It was like a town filled with a rich history, and you could really think everything was real. From each of their families, to everyone in the town, each and every one of them were awesome and popped off the pages. Ethan and Lena were my favorites, along with Boo Radley :].

Speaking of that town! It was creepy, yet was really interesting and played a deeper part of the story than you would originally think. The authors created that perfectly, and I really like it. Did I mention the writing is plain out amazing? The descriptions of everything lifted off the pages. When you first read the opening page, you’re instantly pulled into the dark history of Gaitlin, the feelings of Ethan about Lena, the Southern flare, everything was amazing. To me, the length of this book is perfect for the story that’s being told. I cannot wait for the second book!

Since this, by far, is my favorite southern Gothic novel and this review sucks and is starting to sound fangirly, we’ll just go that this book is amazing and you should seriously pick it up, no matter what you have heard about it. Which are so good reviews from what I see. You’ll fall in love with the town and the characters and the amazing story just like us who loved it!

Disclaimer: This was bought by my parents as a gift.

Sunday, January 10, 2010

IMM/Award [24]

Short week, but I could care less because I have enough books to read...Lol. Anyways, I just got one book for review and it is:

"Jill Jekel has always obeyed her parents’ rules – especially the one about never opening the mysterious, old box in her father’s office. But when her dad is murdered, and her college savings disappear, she's tempted to peek inside, as the contents might be key to a lucrative chemistry scholarship. To better her odds, Jill enlists the help of gorgeous, brooding Tristen Hyde, who has his own dark secrets locked away. As the team of Jekel and Hyde, they recreate experiments based on the classic novel, hoping not only to win a prize, but to save Tristen’s sanity. Maybe his life. But Jill’s accidental taste of a formula unleashes her darkest nature and compels her to risk everything – even Tristen’s love – just for the thrill of being… bad."

Yupp, I'm really excited to read that one! [:

-----

Anyways, instead of doing two posts today, I'm going to post this award that I got and pass it on as well. It's saving...time?...space? Ah, whatever. Cindy, from Simple Life and Reading gave it to me! Thanks!

Here are the rules it comes with:
List 10 things that make you happy.

Try and do at least one of them today.
Tag 10 bloggers that brighten your day.
Link back to the person that tagged you.

1.) My nieces, they're adorable &
can brighten any day.
2.) Getting followers!
3.) Getting texts at three in the morning [:
4.) Laughing hysterically.
5.) Being out at night in a car; don't ask.
6.) Getting packages in the mail.
7.) When my smallest niece misses me so much
she runs & falls into my arms.
8.) Dancing around when no ones home!:P
9.) Hugs.
10.) Life!

Well, that took longer than I thought... ha.


I nominate:

Just Your Typical Book Blog

The Clock Monkey
The Book Pixie
Fantastic Book Review
The Book Owl
The Neverending Shelf
Reading Cause I'm Addicted
Katie's Book Blog
A Passion For Books
&
And Anything Bookish


Friday, January 8, 2010

Review | Evermore by Alyson Noel

Title: Evermore
Author: Alyson Noel
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Pages: 356
Rating: 4/5

"Since a horrible accident claimed the lives of her family, sixteen-year-old Ever can see auras, hear people’s thoughts, and know a person’s life story by touch. Going out of her way to shield herself from human contact to suppress her abilities has branded her as a freak at her new high school—but everything changes when she meets Damen Auguste…

Ever sees Damen and feels an instant recognition. He is gorgeous, exotic and wealthy, and he holds many secrets. Damen is able to make things appear and disappear, he always seems to know what she’s thinking—and he’s the only one who can silence the noise and the random energy in her head. She doesn’t know who he really is—or what he is. Damen equal parts light and darkness, and he belongs to an enchanted new world where no one ever dies."

My thoughts:

Evermore takes something you only think for vampires and takes you on a spin.

Our heroine, Ever, is still grieving over the death of her family. She blames herself for everything that happens. The author makes her so relateable. The grieving wasn't something that was over dramatic, nor less than it should be. It was actually normal. Damen was your tall, dark, and handsome character. He was kind of sketchy when it came to how he really felt about Ever throughout the book, but it clears towards the end. Then there's Riley who is her little sister. She adds punk to the story and helps Ever with her grieving and letting her know it's not her fault.

The descriptions on the setting and characters were really good. She (the author) made it feel like there were real places and people. And what I mean by 'places' is something I'm not going to tell you because it might or might not be a spoiler. But anyways, I like Noel's writing. She took something that you normally would consider something for vampires and made it her own and I think that's really awesome. The whole thing about auras is something that's really neat thrown into the book.

Overall, I really liked this book no matter how many reviews I see saying that it's exactly like Twilight so on and so on. I recommend you read the first book :]

Disclaimer: Bought with parent's money as gift.

New Year, New Layout

Hey all, I just wanted to let you know there will be more reviews to come. I've been working on a new look for the blog. I like to think a new year means a totally new blog design :] So, what do you think?

I want to thank Smitten Blog Designs for the actual template design!

Review up soon!

Sunday, January 3, 2010

IMM :] [23]

Hey there! So originally, I had an In My Mailbox scheduled to post itself at 12 this afternoon. Then I went to the library and picked up some more awesome books. Then today I went to the bookstore. So I had to delete it and start again.

This time in video form [: There were just too many to type out and it would have been a long post. So technically I saved your butt's from reading that much. Instead just listen and watch because there's awesome music and great book covers.

Isn't himz cute? The cup, xD.

ONE more thing, the little notes that come are for the book that came before the notes. Not after the note. Mkaythxs, dearies. (What movie did that come from?)

video

That's all I got! And hopefully, there won't be another post because quite honestly, I have enough books to read. Thanks for reading and watching! [:

Tell me if you can see it!

Friday, January 1, 2010

Happy New Years!

Boo-ya this is posted at exactly the same time 2010 starts. Does that make sense? Ha. Anyways...Happy New Year! Have fun and be safe. And if you have any family members who have gotten drunk, be nice and take care of them [;

I didn't do any nifty or cool surveys for this blog, but I have made up some of my own goals for this blog and personal goals. But we aren't interested in those, xD. Here they are:
  • Work on my reviews!: This is definitely something I want to work on.
  • Read more books!: This is probably on everyone's list, or close to it. I haven't counted this years or anything, but yeah, I want to work on more.
Or, ya know, I didn't plan them out at all. If I think of anymore, I'll be sure to get back at you. Can you see how I didn't plan those goals? xD.

One more time, Happy New Years! I hope all you're goals are achieved bookly ones or what not. I just hope they work for you! This is starting to sound like a bad thing. But, I swear, it's a good thing! It's called best wishes.[:

Xx,
-kAy![: