Sunday, December 5, 2010

Review: Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly

Title: Revolution
Author: Jennifer Donnelly
Publisher: Delacorte
Pages: 496
Rating: 4/5


"BROOKLYN: Andi Alpers is on the edge. She’s angry at her father for leaving, angry at her mother for not being able to cope, and heartbroken by the loss of her younger brother, Truman. Rage and grief are destroying her. And she’s about to be expelled from Brooklyn Heights’ most prestigious private school when her father intervenes. Now Andi must accompany him to Paris for winter break.

PARIS: Alexandrine Paradis lived over two centuries ago. She dreamed of making her mark on the Paris stage, but a fateful encounter with a doomed prince of France cast her in a tragic role she didn’t want—and couldn’t escape.

Two girls, two centuries apart. One never knowing the other. But when Andi finds Alexandrine’s diary, she recognizes something in her words and is moved to the point of obsession. There’s comfort and distraction for Andi in the journal’s antique pages—until, on a midnight journey through the catacombs of Paris, Alexandrine’s words transcend paper and time, and the past becomes suddenly, terrifyingly present."

Review:

Revolution is a beautifully created story that manages to intertwine two stories seamlessly together into a great read. Between the mix of the history and of music, both current and way-back-when types, I was content for several days. As with any novel, there was an underlying message under the story itself. With Revolution, the message was learning to move on from tragic occasions in your life and not blaming yourself and healing. I can safely say both Andi's and Alex's story both had me flipping through the chapters time after time. The characters in both were also very entertaining and were well rounded. Though I admit towards the end it got trippy, but you knew in the back of your head what was going on. So it wasn't that big of a problem. Overall, this novel was really something that stuck with you even after days or weeks from reading it in the first place. I definite must read!

Thursday, November 18, 2010

Guess who's back... back again? :D

Yeah, I missed blogging.
And reading.
So this is me telling you I'm back.
Back again.
Eminem reference, anyone?
Anyways,
I'm having some review requests coming in from two publishers...
So I'm set :D

Take me back? :)

Wednesday, September 29, 2010

Leaving... :/


Have you ever started something for fun... then after awhile it started to feel more like a job then anything else? Well, that's how I feel about my blog. It's been a great run and I've met a lot of nice people but I can't do it anymore. Reading is just eh now and I just enjoy reading for the heck of it and not writing reviews. It's indefinite if I'll come back or not, but for now I don't know. I just know that right now I need a really long break to focus on my life. Put it that way.

Plus I feel my blog really hasn't really accomplished anything in the year (almost two!) that I've been blogging. Oh well, there were those people that actually read it that matters :)

Everything will be on here till whenever. I hope I'll make up my mind sometime soon on if I'm leaving for sure or not. But for now I am. And thanks for the great ride everyone! <3

Saturday, September 18, 2010

Music Monday [o3]

Here's another dose :)
It's more catchy this time.
Give it a try :)


Monday, September 13, 2010

Music Monday [o2]

Here's another dose of music for your Monday ;)


Wednesday, September 8, 2010

Review | The Eternal Ones

Title: The Eternal Ones
Author: Kirsten Miller
Publisher: Razorbill
Pages: 416
Rating: 4.5

"What if love refused to die?

Haven Moore can’t control her visions of a past with a boy called Ethan, and a life in New York that ended in fiery tragedy. In our present, she designs beautiful dresses for her classmates with her best friend Beau. Dressmaking keeps her sane, since she lives with her widowed and heartbroken mother in her tyrannical grandmother’s house in Snope City, a tiny town in Tennessee. Then an impossible group of coincidences conspire to force her to flee to New York, to discover who she is, and who she was.

In New York, Haven meets Iain Morrow and is swept into an epic love affair that feels both deeply fated and terribly dangerous. Iain is suspected of murdering a rock star and Haven wonders, could he have murdered her in a past life? She visits the Ouroboros Society and discovers a murky world of reincarnation that stretches across millennia. Haven must discover the secrets hidden in her past lives, and loves¸ before all is lost and the cycle begins again."

In one sentence: The Eternal Ones was one helluva ride and secured a spot on my most favorites among the paranormal genre.


This novel, by far, was something I haven’t seen on the paranormal scene. Giving you signals that this is something fresh and interesting. The concept of reincarnation, past lives and love-at-first-sight interested me completely and left me awed when I finished reading. For me, keeping up with past characters and the present characters will leave you slightly confused. But The Eternal Ones was forgiven for how well the past and present mixed together seamlessly. And the writing. The writing was amazing and was definitely awesome.


The relationships that Haven were complex and very believable. With Iain, the chemistry between the two was undeniable and very steamy. I mean, come on, I’m a girl, I’m allowed to note on those sort of things. Now on to Beau. He was the guy best friend who was always there for Haven under the circumstances. We didn’t have any problem with the Southern gentleman either. All in all, the characters and their relationships with each other were great.


The ending. For me, everything closed nicely and left me satisfied. And about five minutes later, I’m like wait, what happened to this person? Is that it? But it’s naturally going to happen, and I didn’t mind it at all. Let’s just say it can either close nicely for you or having you wanting more. In my case, both.


The Eternal Ones has everything you could ask for in a paranormal novel with a little twist. The Ouroboros Society gave you the suspense, Haven and Iain gave you the romance (ahem), and with a little mystery, this novel will keep you on your toes. I definitely recommend this novel to almost anyone. Who knows, maybe you’ll like it just as much as I did.

Tuesday, September 7, 2010

Teaser Tuesday [17]



**Mild language in the fragment. Just warning you.**


The track was muddier than it looked. Both competitors
were set. Rudy through a rock in the air as the starting pistol. When it
hit the ground, they could start running.


"I can't even see the finish line," Liesel complained.

"And I can?"

The rock wedged itself into the earth.

They ran next to each other, elbowing and trying to get in front. The slippery ground slurped at their feet and brought them down perhaps twenty meters from the end.

"Jesus, Mary, and Joseph!" yelped Rudy. "I'm covered in shit!"

"It's not shit," Liesel corrected him, "it's mud," although she had her doubts. They'd slid another five meters toward the finish. "Do we call it a draw, then?"

Rudy looked over, all sharp teeth and gangly blue eyes. Half of his face was painted with mud. "If it's a draw, do I still get my kiss?"

"Not in a million years." Liesel stood up and flicked some mud off her jacket.

So there you have it, my TT! :)

Monday, September 6, 2010

Music Monday [o1]

Let me tell you, I am addicted to music. So I figured I'd do the meme as stated up there ^ to share both my love for reading and music! :)




Tuesday, August 17, 2010

Break.

Alright, so here's the deal. You've noticed the lack of posts right? Well they're gonna be like that till I get settled into my school routine again. Which starts next week and shouldn't take too long. But don't worry I have to write reviews and I'll start that today and schedule them. Plus I've been out of the loop with this whole blogging scene. Oops. But anyways... so... stay with me while I do that, yeah?

Monday, August 9, 2010

Daily Dose [o3]

This is a meme hosted by Good Golly Miss Holly and apparently you post pictures that made your day or gave you inspiration. So here are mine.



Sunday, August 8, 2010

IMM [29]

In My Mailbox was created by The Story Siren with inspiration from Pop Culture Junkie. It's where you share what you received every week.


I was feeling lazy and didn't feel like working with HTML this time around, so I made a video with all the books I received this week and last. Cool? Alright.


video

Sunday, August 1, 2010

Daily Dose [o2]


This is a meme hosted by Good Golly Miss Holly and apparently you post pictures that made your day or gave you inspiration. So here are mine.



Friday, July 30, 2010

Review | The Beautiful Between

Title: The Beautiful Between
Author: Alyssa B. Sheinmel
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 192
Rating: 2.5/5

"If high school were a fairy-tale kingdom, Connelly Sternin would be Rapunzel, locked not in a tower by a wicked witch but in a high-rise apartment building by the SATs and college applications—and by the secrets she keeps. Connelly's few friends think that her parents are divorced—but they're not. Connelly's father died when she was two, and she doesn't know how.

If Connelly is the Rapunzel of her school, Jeremy Cole is the crown prince, son of a great and rich New York City family. So when he sits down next to her at lunch one day, Connelly couldn't be more surprised. But Jeremy has a tragic secret of his own, and Connelly is the only one he can turn to for help. Together they form a council of two, helping each other with their homework and sharing secrets. As the pair's friendship grows, Connelly learns that it's the truth, not the secrets, that one must guard and protect. And that between friends, the truth, however harsh, is also beautiful."
The Beautiful Between, although heartfelt, it didn't come full circle for me. The plot seemed to revolve around three things and three things only. Connelly's relationship with Jeremy, Connelly's desire to find out what happened to her father and Jeremy's family secret. Another thing I noticed about this novel's plot is that it didn't move much and felt repetitive.

I believe the main characters were just thrown into becoming friends and all was said and done. I didn't see a true bond between them. Although, I admit, there was a deeper message between them. That just because someone's from a clique you don't necessarily like that doesn't mean that they don't have problems of their own and that you can't relate to them. Or help each other. I adored that aspect of the novel. I also liked the aspect of high school being thought of as a fairytale.

Although this novel didn't satisfy me as the reader, The Beautiful Between was something that needed to be read for the simple fact about the inner message of the novel. But it's really your choice to read this novel or not. Who knows maybe you'll like it better than I did.

Wednesday, July 28, 2010

Waiting on Wednesday [14]


"When her mother is killed in a car accident, Michele Windsor has no choice but to move in with the wealthy grandparents she's never met in New York. Disillusioned by their coldness, Michele retreats into her room, where she discovers her great-great-aunt's journal--and, once she touches its pages, finds herself hurtled back in time.

In the glamorous Gilded Age, Michele learns that a wedding is coming up between the Windsors and another prominent family, the Walkers. But when Michele attends a party, something miraculous happens: while almost no one can see her in this era, one gorgeous young man with sparkling blue eyes can. Drawn together by mutual attraction, the two bond over music and the parents they've recently lost. But when the party is over, Michele learns the truth--the man she just fell for is Phillip Walker. And she, unknowingly, has just inspired him to call off his wedding to her great-great-aunt, prompting a family feud that will last for generations.

As Michele travels back and forth in time, she and Phillip meet over and over, always frustrated by their inability to have more than a few hours together. Michele knows she should try to make a life in the present, but none of the boys at school can hold a candle to Phillip. Finally, Michele tries to end their romance altogether--spurring a tragedy that transcends generations. Has Michele destroyed her chances for happiness? Or is her love for Phillip . . . timeless?"
Why? Because it's about time travel romance. I mean come on, who doesn't like reading about that kinda stuff? Plus it sounds amazing. Oh and it's a 2011 release, so it'll be awhile before I even get near this book, lol.

Tuesday, July 27, 2010

Teaser Tuesday [16]


""Locked?" Simon perked up.

"I busted it open. It's a workshop. Nothing but tools."

"So why would it be locked?" I asked.

"I'd love to say suspicious," Simon said. "But if this Banks guy had kids around, then I'm not surprised. My dad isn't exactly Mr. Handyman, but he kept a lock on his toolbox. You know parents. Paranoid."

"Yeah," Derek said. "Especially after their son flattens his finger trying to nail a drawing to the wall."

"Hey, I'm not the genius who suggested it." Simon glanced at me. "Tape wouldn't hold, and Science Guy explained that the paper was too heavy for the adhesive. So I got some nails."

Derek rolled his eyes."

Sunday, July 25, 2010

Daily Dose [o1]

This is a meme hosted by Good Golly Miss Holly and apparently you post pictures that made your day or gave you inspiration. I loved reading others' posts with this meme, so I thought I'd start sharing mine. It'll switch up the blog a little. And even though, it says every Monday, I'll go with every Sunday.

Let's get on with it shall we?




Er...yeah, I'm going to have to get better at this.

Saturday, July 24, 2010

In My Freaking Mailbox! :] [36]

In My Mailbox is a meme created by The Story Siren with some inspiration from Pop Culture Junkie. But we all knew that, right? Right. So let's get down to it.

Each of the books, except for the third picture is from the library. The publisher sent book three for review.

Book one: I was feeling the need to read a classic, so I chose The Catcher in The Rye. Silly enough, I've never read this. Book two: how could I not pick up the last book in the Darkest Powers Trilogy?! Enough said.

Book three: SQUEE. Enough said. Srsly. Book four: I've always liked this series, and plus the covers are always gorgeous. As a matter of fact, these last two books have gorgeous covers.

Monday, July 19, 2010

Review | Raised by Wolves

Title: Raised by Wolves
Author: Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Publisher: Egmont
Pages: 432
Rating: 4/5
"Adopted by the Alpha of a werewolf pack after a rogue wolf brutally killed her parents right before her eyes, fifteen-year-old Bryn knows only pack life, and the rigid social hierarchy that controls it. That doesn't mean that she's averse to breaking a rule or two.

But when her curiosity gets the better of her and she discovers Chase, a new teen locked in a cage in her guardian's basement, and witnesses him turn into a wolf before her eyes, the horrific memories of her parents' murders return. Bryn becomes obsessed with getting her questions answered, and Chase is the only one who can provide the information she needs.

But in her drive to find the truth, will Bryn push too far beyond the constraints of the pack, forcing her to leave behind her friends, her family, and the identity that she's shaped?
"

Saturday, July 17, 2010

IMM! [35]

Hey all. Here's an In My Mailbox! You know the gist, this meme was created by The Story Siren and with inspiration from Pop Culture Junkie.

Both books are for review.

Tuesday, July 13, 2010

Review - Shade by Jeri Smith-Ready


Title: Shade
Author: Jeri Smith-Ready
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Pages: 309
Rating: 5/5
"Love ties them together. Death can't tear them apart.
Best. Birthday. Ever. At least, it was supposed to be. With Logan's band playing a critical gig and Aura's plans for an intimate after-party, Aura knows it will be the most memorable night of her boyfriend's life. She never thought it would be his last. Logan's sudden death leaves Aura devastated. He's gone. Well, sort of.
Like everyone born after the Shift, Aura can see and hear ghosts. This mysterious ability has always been annoying, and Aura had wanted nothing more than to figure out why the Shift happened so she can undo it. But not with Logan's violet-hued spirit still hanging around. Because dead Logan is almost as real as ever. Almost.
It doesn't help that Aura's new friend Zachary is so understanding--and so very alive. His support means more to Aura than she cares to admit.
As Aura's relationships with the dead and the living grow ever complicated, so do her feelings for Logan and Zachary. Each holds a piece of Aura's heart...and clues to the secret of the Shift."

Sunday, July 4, 2010

IMM! :] [34]


"Wicked Girls is a fictionalized account of the Salem witch trials based on the real historical characters, told from the perspective of three young women living in Salem in 1692—Mercy Lewis, Margaret Walcott, and Ann Putnam Jr.

When Ann’s father suggests that a spate of illnesses within the village is the result of witchcraft, Ann sees an opportunity and starts manifesting the symptoms of affliction. Ann looks up to Mercy, the beautiful servant in her parents' house. She shows Mercy the power that a young girl is capable of in a time when women were completely powerless. Mercy, who suffered abuse at the hands of past masters, seizes her only chance at safety. And Ann’s cousin Margaret, anxious to win the attention of a boy in her sights, follows suit.

As the accusations mount against men and women in the community, the girls start to see the deadly ramifications of their actions. Should they finally tell the truth? Or is it too late to save this small New England town?"
That's all I got this week and, I've gotta admit, this sounds like a purrrty good read. Oh, oh, oh how could I forget? Happy Birthday, America ;) And, like, even though fireworks are illegal, go have some fun with those. And enjoy those family cookouts! Catcha later, bloggers.

Saturday, July 3, 2010

Contest Winner Annoucement.


Happy 4th of July weekend! :)
--

That contest that was on my blog went really well, there were 243 entries in all. I'd say that went well, don't you? Anyways the winner isssss....

Ashley R.

You have 48 hours to respond to my email or I'm going to choose a different winner. Thanks for the awesome contest, guys!

Wednesday, June 23, 2010

Review | Perfect Chemistry

Title: Perfect Chemistry
Author: Simone Elkeles
Publisher: Walker Books
Pages: 360
Rating 5/5

"A modern tale of star-crossed lovers with a fresh urban twist. At Fairfield High School, on the outskirts of Chicago , everyone knows that south-siders mixing with north-siders can be explosive. So when Brittany Ellis and Alejandro “Alex” Fuentes are forced to be lab partners in chemistry class, this human experiment leads to unexpected revelations – that Brittany ’s flawless reputation is a cover for her troubled home life, that Alex’s bad-boy persona hides his desire to break free from gang ties, and that when they’re together, life somehow makes more sense.

Breaking through the stereotypes and expectations that threaten to keep Brittany and Alex apart, Perfect Chemistry takes readers to both sides of the tracks in a passionate love story about looking beneath the surface.
"
Perfect Chemistry is a heartfelt, amazing novel that took my breath away from the first page. It's more than a star-crossed love story. It goes deeper than that and it's portrayed well in this novel.

Both Alex and Brittany's connection and chemistry felt so real. There was no Boom-I'm-In-Love-With-Him moment, it grew over time and flourished. Just as the characters did. Each of the characters, even the secondary ones, were well developed and rounded. Brittany wasn't just your snotty, rich kid. Alex wasn't just your typical gang member. Shelley wasn't just the older sister with cystic fibrosis. Each character had many layers underneath their exterior and I loved that. The alternating chapters between Alex and Brittany was perfect as well. It gave you views into what was going on in each of their lives, what they thought about each other. It was amazing.

I was blown away with everything about this novel. I found myself laughing with the funny parts, swooning with the A & B interaction, and wincing with every thing gang related. Heck, I even teared up a couple times. And the ending, oh the ending, was perfect in every single way possible! This is definitely one of my most loved books now. It's that good, people. Meaning you should go read this NOW. Now, I tell you.

Friday, June 18, 2010

Updatez... well, sort of.

"Summer is where the girls go barefoot,
and their hearts are just as free as their toes."
--
It's summer, and you can blame that little tidbit for the lack of me posting. And reading books nonetheless. My mind has been on everything but reading and my blog! Yeah, you know what I'm talking about. Music, boys, shopping, staying outside all day, swimming, all that jazz.

The last week, or beginning of July, me, my aunt, sister, and my niece (who, let me remind you, is four. she's team edward, btw. yes, my niece is the most awesomest toddler EVAH.) are going to see Eclipse.

From there, a week later, my whole family is taking a trip to King's Island. That's just an amusement park a way up from where I live. Then we're coming back and hopping on a plane and heading over to San Diego for however long!

Busy, busy, busy, eh? You're telling me! The next post will be announcing the winner of the contest that's on my blog. Look out for that ;) But I will be posting posts when I have time.

So I'll be back sooner or later when things calm down and I can pick reading back up. Wait for me my dear followers? :)

Wednesday, June 2, 2010

Review - Keep Sweet by Michele Dominquez Greene

Title: Keep Sweet
Author: Michele Dominquez Greene
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Pages: 215
Rating: 5/5
"Alva Jane has never questioned her parents, never questioned her faith, never questioned her future. She is content with the strict rules that define her life in Pineridge, the walled community where she lives with her father, his seven wives, and her twenty-eight siblings. This is the only world Alva has ever known, and she has never thought to challenge it.

But everything changes when Alva is caught giving her long-time crush an innocent first kiss. Beaten, scorned, and now facing a forced marriage to a violent, fifty-year old man, Alva suddenly realizes how much she has to lose--and how impossible it will be to escape."

Keep Sweet is one of those books that leave your jaw dropped and your mind racing about the reality that there really are places like that of the book. Where girls as young as eleven have to be married off to men twenty to thirty years older than they are. Where choice isn't an option. I was enticed reading this novel. Everything about it brought realization and horror of what Alva had to go through. It was a roller-coaster of emotions. From the very beginning, her voice brought me into the polygamy lifestyle and never lost its grip. Throughout the first part of the novel, Alva is perfectly fine and keeps sweet. She thinks it's normal. But as the novel progresses, she starts seeing everything in a new light. One that shows how bad she was really living life. You could say Alva grew and flourished as a character and I found myself proud of her as she did. She was one of those characters that just lifted off the pages. The author's writing really opened my eyes up with these polygamy lifestyles and created what Alva saw in my own head. I found the entire story eye opening and compelling to the last page. The ending didn't leave me satisfied and had some untied strings. That's the only complaint I have with the novel. Overall, there are some aspects of this novel that are intense, so I wouldn't recommend it for kids under thirteen. But everyone over that, definitely try to read it!

Favorite line: "I learned that sometimes you feel more lonesome when you're surrounded by people than when you're all alone."

Saturday, May 29, 2010

Review - White Cat by Holly Black

Title: White Cat
Author: Holly Black
Publisher: McElderry
Pages: 310
Rating: 4/5

"Cassel comes from a family of curse workers -- people who have the power to change your emotions, your memories, your luck, by the slightest touch of their hands. And since curse work is illegal, they're all mobsters, or con artists. Except for Cassel. He hasn't got the magic touch, so he's an outsider, the straight kid in a crooked family. You just have to ignore one small detail -- he killed his best friend, Lila, three years ago.

Ever since, Cassel has carefully built up a façade of normalcy, blending into the crowd. But his façade starts crumbling when he starts sleepwalking, propelled into the night by terrifying dreams about a white cat that wants to tell him something. He's noticing other disturbing things, too, including the strange behavior of his two brothers. They are keeping secrets from him, caught up in a mysterious plot. As Cassel begins to suspect he's part of a huge con game, he also wonders what really happened to Lila. Could she still be alive? To find that out, Cassel will have to out-con the conmen.

Holly Black has created a gripping tale of mobsters and dark magic where a single touch can bring love -- or death -- and your dreams might be more real than your memories."


White Cat is a novel that I haven't even read about before. The author created a world where with the touch of your hand, Curse Workers could put a curse on anyone they wanted. I think that's slightly on the awesome side, don't you think? I immediately liked Cassel and his story as it developed with each page you turned. The plot was one helluva ride and often had you thinking one thing, but in truth, it was something completely different. The author did that with ease. Overall, I came to the realization that Holly Black has some skills cursing me with this book. Okay that was cheesy, but you get the point!*

Favorite line:

"Pet the cat, dude," says Sam. "She brought you a present. She wants you to tell her how badass she is."


*I realize this review is on the short side. I'm working on changing my review style and this is what you get in the process. So yeah... They'll get better. (At least I hope.)

Wednesday, May 26, 2010

Blogoversary Contest!


**Contest Now Closed**

So, I decided to have a contest anyways. There's two awesome releases that I'm willing to give away to one lucky winner! Here's the low down :)


Dana Hathaway doesn’t know it yet, but she’s in big trouble. When her alcoholic mom shows up at her voice recital drunk, Dana decides she’s had it with being her mother’s keeper, so she packs her bags and heads to stay with her mysterious father in Avalon: the only place on Earth where the regular, everyday world and the magical world of Faerie intersect. But from the moment Dana sets foot in Avalon, everything goes wrong, for it turns out she isn't just an ordinary teenage girl—she's a Faeriewalker, a rare individual who can travel between both worlds, and who can bring magic into the human world and technology into Faerie.
Soon, she finds herself tangled up in a cutthroat game of Fae politics. Someone's trying to kill her, and everyone wants something from her, even her newfound friends and family. Suddenly, life with her alcoholic mom doesn't sound half bad, and Dana would do anything to escape Avalon and get back home. Too bad both her friends and her enemies alike are determined not to let her go...


Sick of vampires? So is Meena Harper. But her boss is making her write about them anyway, even though Meena doesn’t believe in them. Not that Meena isn’t familiar with the supernatural. See, Meena Harper knows how you’re going to die (not that you’re going to believe her; no one ever does).
But not even Meena’s precognition can prepare her for what happens when she meets—then makes the mistake of falling in love with—Lucien Antonescu, a modern-day prince with a bit of a dark side . . . a dark side a lot of people, like an ancient society of vampire-hunters, would prefer to see him dead for.

The problem is, he already is dead. Maybe that’s why he’s the first guy Meena’s ever met that she could see herself having a future with. See, while Meena’s always been able to see everyone else’s future, she’s never been able look into her own. And while Lucien seems like everything Meena has ever dreamed of in a boyfriend, he might turn out to be more like a nightmare. Now might be a good time for Meena to start learning to predict her own future... If she even has one.

  • Ends June 15, 2010 at 12:00 P.M EST time.
  • You do not have to be a follower.
  • Open to Canada & the United States.
  • Fill out the form.
  • Do not give entries in the comments, they won't be counted.


    Sunday, May 23, 2010

    IMM [33]

    Hey, guys. This week I borrowed a lot of good books from the local library. Can you believe these were from a library? Yeah, they're all books that were recently released. I love my library :) Sorry for the tiny images and awkward positioning. Used Paint this time around, lol. Anyways, here are the books:


    Thursday, May 20, 2010

    Review-Glimmerglass by Jenna Black

    Title: Glimmerglass
    Author: Jenna Black
    Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
    Rating: 4/5

    "Dana Hathaway doesn’t know it yet, but she’s in big trouble. When her alcoholic mom shows up at her voice recital drunk, Dana decides she’s had it with being her mother’s keeper, so she packs her bags and heads to stay with her mysterious father in Avalon: the only place on Earth where the regular, everyday world and the magical world of Faerie intersect. But from the moment Dana sets foot in Avalon, everything goes wrong, for it turns out she isn't just an ordinary teenage girl—she's a Faeriewalker, a rare individual who can travel between both worlds, and who can bring magic into the human world and technology into Faerie.

    Soon, she finds herself tangled up in a cutthroat game of Fae politics. Someone's trying to kill her, and everyone wants something from her, even her newfound friends and family. Suddenly, life with her alcoholic mom doesn't sound half bad, and Dana would do anything to escape Avalon and get back home. Too bad both her friends and her enemies alike are determined not to let her go..."

    Glimmerglass is a spellbinding debut novel that creates a world of Fae and humans alike. This novel was amazing. No other words to describe it.

    The author had a way to make you go back and forth between characters and if you could trust them or not. I never really did figure it out completely who was who, but I was satisfied with who Dana figured out were the good guys and who were the bad ones. Each of the characters were well drawn out and had their personalities. Ethan, Kimber, Dana, Finn, and even Keane were my absolute favorites. You have your romance as well, and that starts off quite steamy. The world Avalon was realistic and had an air of old flair to it although it was modernized. The other world of Faerie was equally as interesting, but you didn't read much of it.

    The only iffy problem that I had was how quickly Dana meets with her dad and automatically calls him dad. Most children who have never met their mother/father don't fall so quickly into calling that person mom or dad. Ya know? But that's my only issue with his novel! All these fairy books are starting to become my favorites, but overall, I think this is yet another amazing 2010 debut! Look for it's release the 25th. That's five days away!

    Monday, May 17, 2010

    I almost forgot!


    Today's my one year anniversary! Yupp, you heard correctly. This time last year, I created this blog. And although it went through two other names and more designs than I can count, it's still has been run by me all along. Since that day, I've written 212 posts. Each consisting of reviews and memes with a few author interviews hidden in there somewhere. My love for reading hasn't faltered. It got started, by come on give me a break, The Twilight Series. After I read that series, I just wanted to read more and more. Funny way to ignite your love of reading, huh? Either way, I'm so happy that I started this blog. The authors I was able to talk to, the books I was able to read and review was worth it. I wouldn't change it for anything. I hope that you'll stick with this blog with me for another year and probably many more! There might or might not be a contest. You'll just have to wait and see if I do or not :)

    Sunday, May 16, 2010

    In Muh Mailbox [32]

    Hey, ya'll. I know you pretty tired of a lot of IMM's and like one review in between. Sorry 'bout that. I'm fixing to change it! Anyways, you know the drill, it's Sunday and I show you what books I got this week. It's hosted by The Story Siren & is inspired by Pop Culture Junkie.


    Sixteen-year-old Maggie Bennet’s life is in tatters. Her mother has disappeared, and is presumed dead. The next thing she knows, her father has dragged Maggie away from their elegant Newport home, off on some mad excursion to Yellowstone in Montana. Torn from the only life she’s ever known, away from her friends, from society, and verging on no prospects, Maggie is furious and devastated by her father’s betrayal. But when she arrives, she finds herself drawn to the frustratingly stubborn, handsome Tom Rowland, the son of a park geologist, and to the wild romantic beauty of Yellowstone itself. And as Tom and the promise of freedom capture Maggie’s heart, Maggie is forced to choose between who she is and who she wants to be.


    A summer to remember?

    Angie always thought high school romances were just silly infatuations that come and go. She certainly never thought she would fall in love over one short summer. But when she meets Jack, their connection is beyond any childish crush. Suddenly, Angie and Jack are filling their summer with stolen moments and romantic nights. But as fall grows closer, they must figure out if their love is forever, or just a summer they'll never forget.





    When Jacob’s foster father whispers, “You are indestructible” seconds before dying in a car crash that should’ve killed them both, Jacob never imagines he could possess a real superpower. To test it Jacob and his friends start indulging comic book-like fantasies. Later, they commit to use this amazing power of indestructibility to do good in the world and save others from death. But how do they decide who to save? And what happens when they blur the lines of life and death, right and wrong, and good and evil? Thirteen Days to Midnight is a nail-biting tale of dark intrigue, powerful romance, friendship and adventure.

    Monday, May 10, 2010

    Review | Will Grayson, Will Grayson

    Title: Will Grayson, Will Grayson
    Author: John Green & David Levithan
    Publisher: Dutton
    Pages: 310
    Rating: 4/5

    One cold night, in a most unlikely corner of Chicago, two teens—both named Will Grayson—are about to cross paths. As their worlds collide and intertwine, the Will Graysons find their lives going in new and unexpected directions, building toward romantic turns-of-heart and the epic production of history’s most fabulous high school musical. Hilarious, poignant, and deeply insightful, John Green and David Levithan’s collaborative novel is brimming with a double helping of the heart and humor that have won both them legions of faithful fans.
    Will Grayson, Will Grayson was one of those novels you just have to read. The alternating chapters give you points of views from two different people named the same name. My favorite W.G happened to be the second one, the depressed one. His voice drew me in and had me feeling what he was feeling. I connected more with him. Did I mention the writing was unique? I loved that. It was fantastic and had humor and realization. On the flipside though, you had the first Will Grayson who was, inevitably, was the dork with the gay best friend. His POV was more laid back and funny, especially with Tiny Cooper. He's the gay best friend who had me laughing quite a lot. Overall this novel says a lot about different kinds of love there actually are and I highly recommend you buy it or borrow it, anything to make you read it! :)

    Favorite Line:
    "maybe tonight you're scared of falling, and maybe there's somebody here or somewhere else you're thinking about, worrying over, fretting over, trying to figure out if you want to fall, or how and when you're going to land, and i gotta tell you friends that to stop thinking about the landing, because it's all about falling. maybe there is something you're afraid to say, or someone you're afraid to love, or somewhere you're afraid to go. it's gonna hurt. it's gonna hurt because it matters."

    Sunday, May 9, 2010

    In My Mailbox [31]


    Hey guys, I have another IMM for you! This week was actually a good trip to the library. There were some good ones and I got them :) Sorry the layout is kind of loopy and the images are a tad too big, but whatever.

    As you know, this was created by Kristi from the The Story Siren and inspired by Alea at Pop Culture Junkie. Go check them out!




    So yeah, the first book is for review! And the rest are from my local library. I'm excited about all of these and I just started Give Up The Ghost. So it's the next review after the review scheduled on Monday ;)

    What did you get?

    Wednesday, May 5, 2010

    Waiting on Wednesday [13]


    "Hello, David. My name is Rose. It’s a pleasure to meet you. We are now entering minute two of our friendship. According to my Intimacy Clock, a handshake is now appropriate…"

    David and Charlie are opposites. David has a million friends, online and off. Charlie is a soulful outsider, off the grid completely. But neither feels close to anybody. When David’s parents present him with a hot Companion bot to encourage healthy bonds and treat "dissociative disorder," he can’t get enough of luscious red-headed Rose — and he can’t get it soon. Companions come with strict intimacy protocols, and whenever he tries anything, David gets an electric shock.

    Severed from the boy she was built to love, Rose turns to Charlie, who finds he can open up, knowing Rose isn’t real. With Charlie’s help, the ideal "companion" is about to become her own best friend.

    This sound really good. What books are you waiting for?

    Sunday, May 2, 2010

    Review | Fade Out by Rachel Caine

    Title: Fade Out
    Author: Rachel Caine
    Publisher: Signet
    Pages: 237
    Rating: 4/5

    Without the evil vampire Bishop ruling over the town of Morganville, the resident vampires have made major concessions to the human population. With their newfound freedoms, Claire Danvers and her friends are almost starting to feel comfortable again...

    Now Claire can actually concentrate on her studies, and her friend Eve joins the local theatre company. But when one of Eve's castmates goes missing after starting work on a short documentary, Eve suspects the worst. Claire and Eve soon realize that this film project, whose subject is the vampires themselves, is a whole lot bigger-and way more dangerous-than anyone suspected.
    *There are no spoilers in this review*
    Fade Out is another awesome book in the Morganville Vampire series. The group have always been my favorite since the first book. The closeness that each of them have towards each other is completely realistic and funny as ever. As with the second set of characters (you know who I'm talking about) they were all still allies in a sense, but necessarily couldn't trust. I admit that this one in the series started out a little slow, but proved to be filled with action towards the middle and the end. I love how the author can have a ton of novels in a series and each one be completely different but alike. As usual, I loved this one as the others and I'm looking forward to Kiss of Death which is in my to read pile! Look out for that review.

    Favorite part/line:
    "I like a good bunny slipper. I'm surprised you didn't get the ones with fangs," she said, and scanned the room. "Wow the place looks fantastic."

    Myrnin's eyes brightened. "They have some with fangs? Excellent."
    -Claire & Myrnin pg. 10